Battleships of Great Britain

Duncan class - Pre-Dreadnoughts
HMS Russell
HMS Exmouth
HMS Duncan
HMS Montagu
HMS Albemarle
HMS Cornwallis

King Edward VII class - Pre-Dreadnoughts
HMS King Edward VII
HMS Commonwealth
HMS Dominion
HMS Hindustan
HMS New Zealand (renamed Zealandia 1 Dec 1911)
HMS Britannia
HMS Africa
HMS Hibernia

HMS Dreadnought - The ship that revolutionised battleship design, the first all-big-gun battleship.

Lord Nelson class - The Lord Nelson class carried the heaviest secondary armament of any Pre-Dreadnought at the time of completion, ten 9.2-inch guns*.
HMS Lord Nelson
HMS Agamemnon

Invincible class - Another new type of ship, the battlecruiser. Fast like armoured cruisers, but armed in the same way as the new Dreadnought battleships.
HMS Invincible
HMS Indomitable
HMS Inflexible

Bellerophon class - Immediately following the Dreadnought's design, the Bellerophon class had a heavier anti-torpedo boat armament and a pair of tripod masts to aid spotting for the main armament.
HMS Bellerophon
HMS Téméraire
HMS Superb

St. Vincent class - Very similar to the Bellerophon class, the St. Vincent class increased the main armaments barrel length from 45 to 50 calibres.
HMS Vanguard
HMS Collingwood
HMS St. Vincent

Neptune/Colossus class - To counter the ten gun broadside of the American Delaware class, the Neptune class has the amidships turrets sited en echelon, although this gave only limited arcs of fire.
HMS Neptune
HMS Colossus
HMS Hercules

Indefatigable class - Improved versions of the Invincible class battlecruisers.
HMS Indefatigable
HMS New Zealand
HMAS Australia

Orion class - Main armament was increased to ten 13.5-inch guns, this time all mounted on the centre-line to give all guns good arcs of fire on both sides.
HMS Orion
HMS Monarch
HMS Thunderer
HMS Conqueror

Lion class - The battlecruiser equivalents of the Orion class battleships.
HMS Lion
HMS Princess Royal
HMS Queen Mary

King George V class - Similar to the Orion class, the King George V class had slightly improved protection and the main armament fired a heavier shell.
HMS King George V
HMS Centurion
HMS Audacious
HMS Ajax

Iron Duke class - Secondary armament was increased to 6-inch guns to counter the increasing size of foreign destroyers. For the first time permanent anti-aircraft guns were carried.
HMS Iron Duke
HMS Marlborough
HMS Benbow
HMS Emperor of India

HMS Agincourt - Built for Brazil, she was purchased by the Ottoman Empire and was then taken over by the Royal Navy.

HMS Erin - Built for the Ottoman Empire but taken over by the Royal Navy.

HMS Tiger - To have been the fourth unit of the Lion class, Tiger was reworked to incorporate the lessons learned from of building Japan's Kongo.

HMS Canada (Chile's Almirante Latorre) - Built for Chile, but serving with the Royal Navy during World War I before being delivered.

Queen Elizabeth class - The first battleships armed with 15-inch guns and powered with exclusively oil-fired machinery, the Queen Elizabeth class was fast without the poor armour of battlecruisers.
HMS Queen Elizabeth
HMS Warspite
HMS Barham
HMS Malaya
HMS Valiant

Revenge class - Because of concerns over guaranteed oil supply the "R" class was not built with all oil-fired boilers and so was slower than the Queen Elizabeth class. They spent much of World War II escorting convoys where this was not a handicap.
HMS Revenge
HMS Royal Sovereign (leant to U.S.S.R. as Arkhangelsk)
HMS Royal Oak
HMS Resolution
HMS Ramillies

Renown class - Battlecruisers ordered after the 1914 victory at the Falklands and built with materials assembled for additional Revenge class battleships, their designs were re-worked to add additional armour after the battlecruiser experience at the battle of Jutland.
HMS Repulse
HMS Renown

Courageous class - Built specifically for Admiral Fisher's Baltic plan, these unusual ships became known as the 'Outrageous', 'Curious' and 'Spurious'. All three were later converted to aircraft carriers.
HMS Courageous
HMS Glorious
HMS Furious

HMS Hood - The first British capital ship with a clipper bow and the largest warship in the world when she was commissioned. The battlecruiser's planned modernisation had not been undertaken before the outbreak of World War II and she was sunk by the German battleship Bismarck.

Nelson class - The only Royal Navy battleships to mount 16-inch guns and also the only ones to mount triple turrets. However, built to Washington Treaty limitations the trade-off was a poor speed for it's day.
HMS Nelson
HMS Rodney

King George V class - Also built within the limitations of treaty agreements, the King George V class mounted ten 14-inch guns, with eight of them in two quadruple turrets.
HMS Duke of York
HMS King George V
HMS Prince of Wales
HMS Anson
HMS Howe

HMS Vanguard - The last Dreadnought battleship ever built, HMS Vanguard was a well balanced design, but for a type naval of warfare that no longer existed.

*Japanese Battleship Satsuma had a heavier secondary battery when she was eventually completed. She was designed as a 'dreadnought' (albeit before Dreadnought was built), but due to a shortage of 12-inch guns had to have most of them substituted for a 10-inch secondary battery.

If you have spotted any errors on this page or have anything to contribute please let me know.